Couch to 5k Review

A little over nine weeks ago, I downloaded the Couch to 5k app in an attempt to try something new with my fitness. I enjoy lifting weights and getting my cardio in on the elliptical or stairclimber, but running has always been the bane of my existence. I’ve attempted to run in the past, but I’ve never stuck with it for long. I never wanted to be a runner, but I guess never say never.

A good friend of mine recommended the app to me. Like me, she was new into fitness and wasn’t a runner beforehand. I saw how the runs were making her feel, and I wanted the same. I downloaded the app and began running the next day. The app consisted of three workouts each week for nine weeks. Each week, the running intervals lengthened, and eventually the walking intervals were removed all together. At the very end of the nine weeks, the workout was a 30 minute steady run.

The first few runs were easy. The intervals of walking and running helped me ease into the longer runs towards the end of the nine weeks. Towards the middle of the program, the changes from one workout to the next were a little bit drastic for me. There was one or two weeks were I had to do the workouts twice before I felt like I had accomplished them. At the end though, the app kept up with their promise. Although it took a little longer than the nine weeks, now that it’s completed, I’m jogging three miles straight! I still may be slow, and on the verge of an asthma attack at the end of the run, but I did the damn thing!

I would recommend the app to anyone who is inexperienced with running and wants to add something new to their workout. But this program is not possible for everyone. It’s highly unlikely that someone with no fitness experience will have the ability to run a 5k in nine weeks. Personally, I think that someone needs a little but of fitness experience under their belt in order to complete the program. That being said, I’d give the app two thumbs up, and my next step is to tackle a 10k using another app from the same company!

Leave a Reply

